BEST OF 2009

2009

As the decade comes to a close, it ends with quite a bang. 2009 was an exceptional year for music, from the biggest bands to the smallest bands. I loved making this list because it brought me back to each album, and the reasons why I absolutely loved it. Hopefully a few of these made you happy, and maybe you’ll find some you missed. On a side note, this will indefinitely be my last post for the next week or so. I have finals this entire week that I have to focus on, and then important family stuff. Nonetheless, enjoy the best of 2009!

Jeff’s Best Albums of 2009

01. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
02. The Dear Hunter – Act III: Life and Death
03. Arctic Monkeys – Humbug
04. Passion Pit – Manners
05. The Pains of Being Pure At Heart – The Pains of Being Pure At Heart
06. Annabel – Each and Everyone
07. Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca
08. Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
09. The Middle East – The Recordings of the Middle East
10. Matt and Kim – Grand
11. Cymbals Eat Guitars – Why There Are Mountains
12. Baroness – Blue Record
13. Sleepy Sun – Embrace
14. Kid Cudi – Man on the Moon: The End of Day
15. Japandroids – Post-Nothing
16. Ramona Falls – Intuit
17. Fuck Buttons – Tarot Sport
18. Black Math Horseman – Wyllt
19. Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
20. Drummer – Feel Good Together
21. Snakeosaurus Rex – Rhino
22. I Was A King – I Was A King
23. The Modern Electric – The Modern Electric
24. Between The Buried and Me – The Great Misdirect
25. Mew – No More Stories…

Honorable Mention (in no order)

Throw Me The Statue – Creaturesque
Mystery of Two – Mystery of Two
Emeralds – What Happened
Emeralds – Emeralds
Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms
Worriedaboutsatan – Arrivals
Quest For Fire – Quest For Fire
The xx – xx
Nosaj Thing – Drift
Desolation Wilderness – New Universe
Ducktails – Landscapes
Akron/Family – Set ‘Em Wild, Set ‘Em Free
Clues – Clues
Dananananaykroyd – Hey Everyone!

Best EPs

01. No Age – Losing Feeling
02. Deerhunter – Rainwater Cassette Exchange>
03. Ponyta – Friendship and Self-Discipline

Best Live Acts (that I saw this year)

Yeasayer
Ponytail
Holy Fuck
I Need Sleep
All The Day Holiday
Matt and Kim
Grizzly Bear

Best B-Side Track

Grizzly Bear – “While You Wait For The Others (Feat. Michael McDonald)”

Worst Band, not only in 2009, EVER (by a landslide)

Wavves

Best Album Art

2009
Baroness – Blue Record

2009
Drummer – Feel Good Together

2009
Bowerbirds – Upper Air

2009
Ramona Falls – Intuit

2009
The Middle East – The Recordings of the Middle East

2009
Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion

2009
Music Go Music – Expressions

2009
Desolation Wilderness – New Universe

2009
The Widest Smiling Faces – The Widest Smiling Faces

2009
Black Math Horseman – Wyllt

2009
Assemble Head In Sunburst Sound – When Sweet Sleep Returned

2009
The American Dollar – Ambient One

2009
We Were Promised Jetpacks – These Four Walls

14 Responses to “BEST OF 2009”


  1. 1 KJ 12/15/2009 at 12:09 AM

    Have to agree wholeheartedly, Wavves is really terrible.

  2. 2 scurvyman 12/15/2009 at 2:59 AM

    re: Wavves: oh GOD so true. How the fuck did that band get so much hype?

  3. 3 teenagehangover 12/18/2009 at 1:17 PM

    you put most of the best albums in the ‘honourable mentions’ and chose arctic monkeys 3rd, out of everything released this year? wow

    • 4 thenoiseis 12/19/2009 at 1:06 AM

      If I’m going to make an authentic list, Arctic Monkeys has to be on there for me personally. I listened to the album more than a bit, and I absolutely loved it. I see you’re from the UK, and I think the Monkeys are blown way out of proportion there.

    • 5 thenoiseis 12/19/2009 at 2:05 AM

      And now I have read your “Plea to not buy Humbug”. I have no clue if you have listened to it or not, since you based your view off of 30 seconds of “Crying Lightning”, but not all of it is boring tempos and shit lyrics. I am very open to others opinions, but yours is purely based off a grudge.

  4. 6 Stu 12/20/2009 at 2:00 PM

    yo the middle east put out their record in 2008.. doesnt make it any less amazing tho

    • 7 thenoiseis 12/20/2009 at 6:49 PM

      Well they re-released this with just the the first five songs on Spunk Records this year. The one I posted was 2008. So…technically its half and half.

  5. 8 indy 12/20/2009 at 6:49 PM

    Wavves hate is a little harsh (ever? “Cool Jumper” begs to differ), but then again I think Passion Pit is a big pile of dung so whatever. That it makes any list over Discovery is disheartening. Clues broke my top 10. You’ve got a lot of good choices otherwise, AC just takes the cake for me. Beautiful album. Micachu, Yo La Tengo, A Sunny Day in Glasgow and Circulatory System are all notable exclusions.

    • 9 thenoiseis 12/21/2009 at 12:23 AM

      When you say Discovery do you mean the Ra Ra Riot/Vampire Weekend collaboration? Cause I thought that was crap! LOL. I listened to Clues a ton in a small period of time, “Perfect Fit” is still one of my favorite songs of the year. And good calls on A Sunny Day in Glasgow and Circulatory System. I have CS’s Signal Morning but I just got Glasgow’s Ashes Grammar. I need to listen to it soon.

  6. 10 indy 12/21/2009 at 4:44 AM

    Man! What am I hearing with Discovery that everyone else isn’t? It is too good.

  7. 11 Julie 12/26/2009 at 10:22 PM

    Worst Band, not only in 2009, EVER (by a landslide)

    Wavves
    ____________
    I didn’t ever get the hype with Wavves. But I say this title HAS to go to Ra Ra Riot. Ironically enough, I went to their show for the opening bands. But their performance was very bland, just like their album.

    The Modern Electric put out a good album and same goes for Afternoon Naps. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart seems like mediocre twee pop. I thought they could do more.

    • 12 thenoiseis 12/27/2009 at 2:22 AM

      I really haven’t given Ra Ra Riot enough time to tell if they’re bland or not. Who did they play with?

      and I think that TPOBPAH do just enough to sound great. Anymore more or less, they wouldn’t be as good.

  8. 13 Julie 12/27/2009 at 8:36 AM

    They played with Princeton and Maps & Atlases. Both of them put on a good show. The show should have ended there, but then I realized the headliner was up after them. Yikes.

    • 14 thenoiseis 12/28/2009 at 12:35 AM

      Haha yeah those bands are both better in my opinion. I had the chance to see Maps but sadly missed it. Still pissed.


Leave a Reply

IM JEFF.
IM FROM CLEVELAND.
IM IN INDIANA RIGHT NOW.
YA DIG?

THIS MUSIC IS PROMOTIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.
BUY LOTS OF RECORDS, CDS, CASSETTES, AND TSHIRTS.

If anybody wants a link removed, please email me, and it will be removed immediately.
EMAIL: thenoiseis [AT] yahoo.com
If you are in a band or know a band you think I will like, shoot me an email. Just send me a link, artwork, and a short description of the music.

CONNECT WITH ME

TOP NOISE

Artists

Blog Stats

  • 318,401 visits

Twitter


