Mid-American – Fake Homes

Genre: Folk, Indie Rock
Year: 2010
Location: Carmel, IN
Label: Unsigned
Myspace

01. Don’t Stray
02. My Ladder, High
03. Riversong
04. Stillness
05. Open Eyes

Mid-American is a six-piece band out of Carmel, IN made up of a few college and high school kids, and they are one of those bands that take a dead scene and add a ton of life to it. Fakes Homes is their first official release, and the EP really takes off for such a young band. They incorporate a strong list of influences, from the harmonies of Fleet Foxes (“Riversong”) to the musical complexity of Local Natives (“Don’t Stray”,”My Ladder, High”). Not even considering their ages, Fake Homes is an incredible EP, and I really see bigger things ahead for Mid-American. As of right now, Mid-American have the entire EP up on their band camp for $3 in bunch of formats. If you like this, find $3 lying around your apartment and throw to these youngsters.

3 Responses to “Mid-American – Fake Homes”


  1. 1 RavingLunatic 03/06/2010 at 2:59 PM

    Regarding the Indiana music scene, there are two artists that I really love: Elephant Micah and Tim Grimm.

    Both play a kind of Americana. Elephant Micah is, along with the amazing J. Tillman, my favorite artist going these days. I’m from Indiana, but it’s really just a coincidence that Elephant Micah is too; I got into his stuff the same way I get into every other artist I love, by download some of their stuff on the internet. Anyways, if you have never heard him, you should definitely check out Elephant Micah. His music is amazing and beautiful. The best5 album to start with is probably Elephant Micah and the Agrarian Malaise.

    By the way, thanks for all the work you do on the blog. I really enjoy it, and I’m sure that tons of anonymous and silent others do as well.

    I haven’t heard of Mid-American before, so I’ll have to give them a listen here soon.


  1. 1 Mid-American – Fake Homes [2010] | bolachas Trackback on 03/15/2010 at 12:12 PM
  2. 2 Mid-American – “Shadow” « The Noise Is… Trackback on 05/16/2012 at 12:24 PM

Leave a Reply

IM JEFF.
IM FROM CLEVELAND.
IM IN INDIANA RIGHT NOW.
YA DIG?

THIS MUSIC IS PROMOTIONAL PURPOSES ONLY.
BUY LOTS OF RECORDS, CDS, CASSETTES, AND TSHIRTS.

If anybody wants a link removed, please email me, and it will be removed immediately.
EMAIL: thenoiseis [AT] yahoo.com
If you are in a band or know a band you think I will like, shoot me an email. Just send me a link, artwork, and a short description of the music.

CONNECT WITH ME

TOP NOISE

Artists

Blog Stats

  • 318,466 visits

Twitter


